Campus Law Centre fondly known as CLC is one of the premier legal education centers of the country. It was established in 1922, under the aegis of University of Delhi in its foundation year. In 1975, the day classes of LL.B. of the Faculty of Law were rechristened as Campus Law Centre. The Campus Law Centre or CLC, known for its great achievements, has the distinction of being one of the oldest and most prestigious institutions, which continues to preserve its 100 years of rich heritage and legacy of yielding profound lawyers, academicians, Union Cabinet Ministers, Chief Justices, and judges.

Being a part of Faculty of Law, the CLC offers a three-year LL.B (Bachelor of Law) programme of study, and LL.M., MCL and Ph.D. programmes of studies managed by the Faculty of Law. The unique pedagogy of the CLC is the case-based study and the institute provides the case materials which are regularly revised to incorporate contemporary developments in the field of law. The primary focus of the ‘case-study’ based curriculum, to enrich our students aiming to inculcate a deep understanding of theoretical legal knowledge along with the understanding of case laws. In furtherance of its mission to foster effective learning and easier access to all, the case materials are available on its website in downloadable format.

CLC is a renowned institution of legal education due to its great faculty staff and the centre is known for having the best teachers of the country. The current academic staff is exceptionally competent and well-versed, and CLC is proud of its vibrant academic fraternity, which includes members from practically every region of the nation. Some of the faculty members have made significant contributions to the intellectual richness of the country as top scholars in their specialised fields-IPR, Criminal Law, Environment Law, and Constitutional Law.

Drawing strength from the vast interdisciplinary credentials of our erudite students, distinguished faculty, and illustrious alumni, CLC nurtures an intellectual powerhouse. Qualitative and comprehensive teaching, moot-court competitions, campus placements, legal-aid services, regular discussions, workshops and seminars, multiple scholarships, unparallel opportunities, research endeavors, a state-of-the-art library and other essential, co-curricular and extra co-curricular facilities help our fraternity at CLC to stay close to the pulse of law. Besides, these features ensure a rigorous, vibrant, and collaborative environment for our students to be ready for engaging with the world across borders, sectors, and industries, embodying CLC as a Centre of Excellence.


The University of Delhi is a collegiate central university located in New Delhi, India. It was founded in 1922 by an Act of the Central Legislative Assembly. It is recognized as an Institute of Eminence by the University Grants Commission and as an institution of national importance by the Constitution of India (Seventh Schedule, List-I, Entry-63).

The Faculty of Law was established in 1922 by the University of Delhi and is an accredited legal institution by the Bar Council of India. LL.B. is a full-time professional course recognized and regulated by the Legal Education Rules 2008 of the Bar Council of India.

Evolution of the courses at CLC

1922: Bachelor of Laws (LL.B.) was initially commenced as a two-year part-time Course with ten teachers as morning classes.

1942: The evening classes commenced. Two full-time courses, viz. Degree of Bachelor of Civil Laws (B.C.L.) and Certificate of Proficiency (Law), were introduced.

1944: One-year Master of Laws (LL.M.) was introduced which was made a full-time two-year Course in 1947. Around the same time, a three-year LL.M. degree was introduced for working professionals wherein the same curriculum, as the two-year LL.M., is spread over a span of three years.

1961: With the enactment of the Advocates Act, 1961, the Certificate of Proficiency (Law) Course was abolished.

1966: The B.C.L. Degree Course was discontinued.

1966: This year marked a moment of triumph in the history of the Faculty of Law and legal education in the country. The then Dean, Prof. P.K. Tripathi and his team of dedicated teachers adopted and implemented almost all the recommendations of the Gajendragadkar Committee on Legal Education (1964) appointed by the then Vice-Chancellor, Dr C.D. Deshmukh. The two-year LL.B. was remodelled into a three-year (six semesters) course.

1975: With Prof. Upendra Baxi joining the Faculty of Law, it became the hub of the social-legal approach to the study of law promoting understanding of the interplay of law and society.